Dr. Marilyn Murphy Fore chosen as SCATCC Chief Executive Officer

Horry-Georgetown Technical College (HGTC) is proud to announce that HGTC President, Dr. Marilyn Murphy Fore, has been recognized as the 2020 Chief Executive Officer of the Year by the South Carolina Association of Technical College Commissioners (SCATCC).  The award honors the tremendous services of and contributions made by a technical or community college chief executive officer. 

President Fore was pleasantly surprised as HGTC Chairman Tommy Branyon and other Commissioners notified her of the award at a special called meeting of the Area Commission.  The official award presentation will take place at the SC Association of Technical College Commissioner’s Academy on January 26, 2021.  

Dr. Marilyn Murphy Fore became president of HGTC on April 1, 2017. Prior to this appointment, she served as the Senior Vice President and in a variety of leadership positions over the last four decades. During her years of service to the College, President Fore’s purpose and vision has always been improving the lives of her students, which is evident in her personal and financial commitments to HGTC. She has established numerous scholarships for students and consistently contributes to the HGTC Foundation. She has personally ensured that students who didn’t think higher education was an option for them not only attended HGTC, but also succeeded in school and after graduation.

Read more over at Grand Strand CEO.